TEAM AQUA - Our Team

Team Aqua
Team Aqua - Adris RC44 World Championships, Rovinj, Croatia

Team Aqua is an international sailing team owned by UK based businessman Chris Bake. Kiwi sailor Cameron Appleton is the team’s pro skipper; crewmembers are Matt Cassidy (USA), Andrew Estcourt (NZL), Ben Graham (UAE), Chris Noble (GBR), Dylan Clarke (AUS), Brett Jones (AUS), with Jono Swain (RSA) and Simon Johnson (IRL) new in 2014. Chris is a passionate sailor who grew up in Spain, sailed through school in England and University in America. “Aqua”, the Spanish word for water, is a reference to his kids’ names. The team’s objective is to be competitive, to always look for solutions to enhance its performance and to ensure that it functions as a team.

Team Aqua joined the RC 44 Championship Tour at the very beginning of the circuit. Created by five times America’s Cup winner Russell Coutts, the Tour reassembles some of the world’s best sailors in an exciting format that combines owner-driver fleet races and a match race contest for the owners or pro's. The formula is a winner; dynamic one design boat, ease of transport, varied locations, competitive, huge support from the class and ultimately fun. Team Aqua won its first racing season in 2007, finished fourth in 2008 and fifth in 2009 and being the first team to win back-to-back championships in 2011/2012 and following up winning for a third straight year in 2013. Team Aqua has been the most successful RC44 team on the circuit.
Besides being one of the principal contenders of the Tour, Team Aqua uses its boat as a platform to promote an eco-friendly message. The team supports the World Land Trust and 2041, an organisation founded by polar explorer, environmental leader and public speaker Robert Swan, OBE, the first person in history to walk to both the North and South poles, and dedicated to the protection of the poles. Team Aqua offsets its carbon footprint and promotes sustainable development.