POSTED ON 11.06.2010
Team Aqua fourth overall after one day of fleet racing

Team Aqua sits three points behind the provisional leader No Way Back. The game is more open than ever.

Team Aqua sits three points behind the provisional leader No Way Back. The game is more open than ever.

PRO Peter Reggio had no other choice but to postpone racing to a couple of hours after lunchtime due to the heavy rain and light wind this morning. The racing finally got underway by 2:30 PM, and lasted until 7:00 PM, with four beautiful races completed at the end of the day.

Only nine points separate the nine top teams in the provisional ranking, with Pieter Heerema’s No Way Back leading Igor Lah’s Ceeref by one point and Torbjorn Tornqvist’s Artemis by two. Heerema probably didn’t think he would be leading the provisional ranking when he crossed the arrival line of the first race in last. On the other hand, Daniel Calero and his team Puerto Calero – who won this first regatta convincingly – were certainly hoping for a better provisional overall result than their ninth place.
Those results summarise the day pretty well: varied weather, with rain and sunshine, some rain squalls, a lot of chop around the start line and flat water at the top mark… Uneven conditions that led to uneven results, with Katusha’s owner Guennadi Timtchenko managing to win the first ever regatta in his life (he only started sailing last month during the RC 44 Austria Cup) and experienced teams such as BMW ORACLE Racing or Team Aqua struggling to be consistent.
Thanks to two race victories and a fourth place, and despite the first race’s disappointment, Pieter Heerema and his team No way Back are the event’s provisional leaders. They are however far from being in a safe spot, with two more days of racing and up to eight more races to complete.
The weather forecast for tomorrow is much better with even, perhaps, the season missing so far on the menu…
Fleet race, provisional results after four races: Ranking, name of team, helmsman, results, points (no discard)
1) Team No Way Back, Pieter Heerema, 10, 1, 4, 1 – 16 points
2) CEEREF, Igor Lah, 5, 2, 7, 3 – 17 points
3) Artemis, Torbjorn Tornqvist, 3, 5, 8, 2 – 18 points
4) Team Aqua, Chris Bake, 2, 3, 9, 5 – 19 points
5) BMW ORACLE Racing, Larry Ellison, 8, 6, 2, 4 – 20 points
6) Team Sea Dubai, Harm Muller Spreer, 7, 4, 3, 6 – 20 points
7) Katusha, Guennadi Timtchenko, 6, 8, 1, 8 – 23 points
8) 17, Anders Myralf 4, 7, 6, 7 – 24 points
9) Team Islas Canarias Puerto Calero, Daniel Calero, 1, 10, 5, 9 – 25 points
10) Team Austria, René Mangold, 9, 9, 10, 10 – 38 points


Back to index